Klipriviersberg Nature Reserve

Mondeor, Johannesburg


Klipriviersberg Nature Reserve is situated 11km south of the city centre, next to the southern suburb of Mondeor and consists of 615 hectares of open veld and koppies. The reserve was first proclaimed in 1984 although the area has a rich history that can be traced back 250,000 years to the Stone Age. Many artifact from bygone eras are to be found in the reserve including ancient stone circles, the remains of early dwellings that are thought to date from about 1500. The reserve was bought by the Johannesburg City Council in 1950.

The reserve has several access points of which the one in Frandaph Drive in Mondeor is probably the most popular. Guided walks are available on the second and fourth Sunday of the month. These start from Frandaph Drive entrance at 9am May to September and 8am the rest of the year and last for about 3 hours. However the reserve is open daily, from sunrise to sunset for those who wish to go on a self guided ramble.

 

Click on map for larger image

         
 

The reserve has around 150 recorded species of birds and around 650 indigenous plants and trees growing in it. The pleasant Bloubosspruit stream meanders its way through the reserve.

 

Ancient Stone Circle

 
         
 

Zebra,Wildebeest and many other species, roam the reserve

 

The reserve is well stocked with wildlife which include Zebra, Wildebeest, and Hartebeest.

 
         
 

The game is an added attraction to an already scenic area.

 The area is supervised by horse patrols with a guard at the parking area in Frandaph Drive, Mondeor.

 

An ideal place to bring the family

 
 

Walks

The reserve has a network of trails running through it, the two longest from 5.8km to 9km. As mentioned previously, organized walks take place every 2nd and 4th Sunday of the month. However, the reserve is open for people to explore whenever they wish on a self guided basis.

         
 
Parking Area at Frandaph Road Mondeor
 

The best place to enter the reserve for walking purposes is at Frandaph Road, Mondeor. From here it is a walk of just over a kilometre to Silent Pool. A gumpole sticking vertically out of the groung indicates the spot were the path leaves the Bloubosspruit and climds away up the mountain.

 
         
 

The kloof that the trail leads you through is picturesque but can also be quite taxing for the unfit. Once the top is reached there are some beautiful views across Mondeor and Kibler Park.

 
 
         
 
 

The highest point is marked by an old trig beacon that one of our party took great pleasure in climbing to the top of.

 

 

 

Click on map for larger version

Management

The reserve is run by Klipriviersberg Nature Reserve Association which has a membership of more than four hundred, in conjunction with Johannesburg City Parks and Gauteng Nature Conservation.

 

                   KLIPRIVIERSBERG NATURE RESERVE ASSOCIATION 
CALENDAR OF EVENTS 2009   
             
DATE DAY CODE CONTACT COST TIME EVENT  VENUE
2-May Sat   ST   8:00 Saturday Social - helpers/gardeners + extended family Rec Centre
10-May Sun   TF   9:00 Guided Walk Silent Pool
16-May Sat ♦♦ CL R 60 TBA Sunset - Snacks Rec Centre
16-May Sat   PT   8:00 Bird walk Rec Centre
24-May Sun   TF   9:00 Guided Walk Silent Pool
30-May Sat   ST   9:00 Clean-up / snares / maintenance Silent Pool
13-Jun Sat   ST   9:00 Saturday Social - Midwinter Madness - Dress warmly Rec Centre
14-Jun Sun   TF   9:00 Guided Walk Silent Pool
20-Jun Sat   PT   8:00 Bird walk Rec Centre
28-Jun Sun   TF   8:00 Guided Walk Silent Pool
4-Jul Sat   ST   9:00 Saturday Social - Winter Flowers Rec Centre
12-Jul Sun   TF   9:00 Guided Walk Silent Pool
18-Jul Sat   PT   8:00 Bird walk Rec Centre
26-Jul Sun   TF   8:00 Guided Walk Silent Pool
1-Aug Sat   ST   9:00 Saturday Social - Church Youth Groups Silent Pool
6-Aug Thurs ♦♦ CL Donation TBA ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING Rec Centre
9-Aug Sun ♦♦ CL TBA TBA Solar Cooking / Sustainable Living Rec Centre
15-Aug Sat   PT   8:00 Bird walk Rec Centre
23-Aug Sun   TF   9:00 Guided Walk Silent Pool
5-Sep Sat ♦♦ TP R 50 TBA Sunrise / Greet The Sun - Bush Breakfast Rec Centre
13-Sep Sun   TF   8:00 Guided Walk Silent Pool
19-Sep Sat   PT   7:00 Bird walk Rec Centre
19-Sep Sat ♦♦ CL R 60 TBA Sunset - Snacks Rec Centre
27-Sep Sun   TF   8:00 Guided Walk Silent Pool
3-Oct Sat   ST   8:00 Clean-up / snares / maintenance Silent Pool
11-Oct Sun   TF/CK R10/R25 8:00 Spring Walk - Specialists - Bring and Braai Silent Pool
15-Oct Thurs ♦♦ CL R 80 TBA Members Function Rec Centre
17-Oct Sat   PT   6:00 Bird walk Rec Centre
25-Oct Sun   TF   8:00 Guided Walk Silent Pool
31-Oct Sat   ST   8:00 Saturday Social Stroll - Tribute to Grandparents Rec Centre
1-Nov Sun ♦♦ CL TBA TBA Music in the Park Rec Centre
8-Nov Sun   TF   8:00 Guided Walk Silent Pool
21-Nov Sat   PT   6:00 Bird walk Rec Centre
22-Nov Sun   TF   8:00 Guided Walk Silent Pool
5-Dec Sat   ST   8:00 Saturday Social Stroll  - farewell to 2009 Rec Centre
13-Dec Sun   TF   8:00 Guided Walk Silent Pool
19-Dec Sat   PT   6:00 Bird walk Rec Centre
27-Dec No walk   No walk   8:00 No walk No walk
             
  NB  EVENTS ARE SUBJECT TO CHANGE  
  Up to date information is available on our website: www.knra.co.za     
  Contacts:          
Christine Loukakis ("CL") - 082 330 1893 Sue Thiele ("ST") - 072 414 2548    
Philip Tarboton ("PT") - 082 828 5959         Tom Botha ("TB") - 083 266 4914  
Thavarani Pillay ("TP") - 0833011256          Tony Ferguson ("TF") - 082 454 6114    
             
All Bookings/Confirmations need to be done through the above designated Contact  
♦♦ - These events need to be booked 3 days before the function  
  PLEASE SUPPORT OUR FUNCTIONS  
             

 

 


Footprint Hiking Club